A Brief Historical Introduction
In 1839 five women and three men met at Greenwood School house for the purpose of organizing a Presbyterian Church. Issac Atlee, the founder of New Windsor, sold the present church site to the trustees for $100 in 1841. A unique feature of this church's charter is that is was English Presbyterian rather than the usual Scottish affiliation. It is yoked with the Piney Creek Presbyterian Church, Taneytown.
"A walk through the adjacent cemetery leaves one in awe of the numbers of historically note-worthy people who lie at rest there. Little Maggie Mehring witnessed the burial of Cival War soldiers from a window in the manse that overlooks the cemetery. The huge headstones bear dates from the early 1800's and names including the family of the founder of the town, Issac Atlee. The stones are like pages of a history book."
A beautifully carved pump organ, now electric, fills one corner of the sanctuary and a rosewood square grand piano the other. The oil lamps, also electrified, still hold their antique charm. The historic corner cupboard, circa 1870, in the narthex contains interesting memorabilia. Constructional changes are the addition of a stairway from the basement to the sanctuary and the removal of steps entering the sanctuary.
We purpose to continue to boldly proclaim the truth of the Word of God. Perhaps the Lord will lead you to join us in influencing this quaint, historic town for him.
(Above taken from articles written by Sharon Schuster.)